2017 News Archive

2017 Archive

2017 Alamo Regional Science and Engineering Fair - February 2017

Grand Awards High School

1st Grand Fair I – Isuru Somawardana (going to ISEF!)

1st Grand Fair II – Abby Parker (going to ISEF!)

2nd Grand Fair I – Evan Meade (going to ISEF!)

3rd Grand Fair I – John Wilkins

3rd Grand Fair II – Nia Clements

3rd Grand Fair III – Ashlyn Roth

4th Grand Fair II – Ashara Somawardana

Grand Awards Middle School

2nd Grand Fair II – Allison Wivagg

2nd Grand Fair III – Corinthian Ewesuedo

High School Category Awards

2nd Place Team Fair III – Meghan Maloney

2nd Place Microbiology– Dan Covert

3rd Place Zoology – Beril Saygin

3rd Place Medicine & Health – Adithya Mummidi

4th Place Environmental – Paras Patel

5th Place Biochemistry – Ani Karla

Director’s Award Zoology – Jack Covert

Middle School Category Awards

1st Place Team Fair II – Siona Manocha and Eric Liu

1st Place Physics – Sam Griffith

2nd Place Engineering – Sophie Skop

3rd Place Medicine & Health – Veda Atluri

3rd Place Medicine & Health – Shreya Chaudhary


Special Awards

American Chemical Society – Ashara Somawardana

American Physiological Society – Nia Clements

American Statistical Association – Isuru Somawardana, Adithya Mummidi

Association of Old Crows – Evan Meade

BioBridge Global – Nia Clements, Ani Karla

Diagnostic Research Group – Nia Clements

Genius International Olympiad – John Wilkins

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society – Ashara Somawardana

Intel Excellence in Computer Science – Evan Meade

ISWEEP Competition – Paras Patel

Men’s Gardening Club – Ashlyn Roth

Office of Naval Research– Sophie Skop, Allison Wivagg, Evan Meade, Beril Saygin

Regeneron Science – Ashlyn Roth, Evan Meade, Adithya Mummidi

San Antonio Space and National Space Society – Ashlyn Roth

Society of In Vitro Biology – Meghan Maloney

South Texas Geological Society – John Wilkins

United States Metric Association – Adithya Mummidi

US Air Force – Shreya Chaudhary

UTHSCSA and Women’s Faculty Association – Allison Wivagg, Veda Atluri, Nia Clements

Yale Science and Engineering Association – Evan Meade

Broadcom Recipients – Allison Wivagg, Sam Griffith, Corinthian Ewesuedo


Schreiner College $20,000 – Isuru Somawardana, Abby Parker

Schreiner College $16,000 – Evan Meade

Schreiner College $12,000 – Ashlyn Roth, John Wilkins, Nia Clements

Schreiner College $8000 – Ashara Somawardana

St. Mary’s University $48,000 – Isuru Somawardana, Abby Parker

St. Mary’s University $40,000 – Evan Meade

Trinity University $8000 – Isuru Somawardana, Abby Parker, Evan Meade

University of the Incarnate Word $16,000 – Abby Parker

University of the Incarnate Word $20,000 – Isuru Somawardana

San Antonio Book Festival Fiction Contest, sponsored by the Texas Cavaliers - February 2017

This contest, open to students in grades 7 to 12, received 210 entries. In the seventh-/eighth-grade division, eighth grader Corinthian Ewesuedo tied for third place with her story “Winter in Summer.” Allison Wu, also an eighth grader, was one of ten finalists, recognized for her story “My Father on the Willow Bridge.” Fiction contest co-chair Mark Kimberly said, “The submissions this year really impressed our pool of judges. We’re proud that the quality of the stories continues to reflect a bright, talented, and creative student body in Bexar County, and we’re pleased to see the contest grow with an increase in entries this year.’

Laws of Life Essay Contest, sponsored by the Better Business Bureau - February 2017

The contest, open to students in grades 6 to 8, encourages students to write about the core values or laws of life that guide them. Essays are judged by a panel of professionals from the business and academic communities. This year, Keystone has seven of the thirteen finalists. Winners will be announced in a ceremony at the March 22 Town Hall meeting in the Keystone theater. Please join us at 11:50 if you can.

Ella Best, “Sunny-Side Up”
Andy De la Garza, “Stepping Outside of My Comfort Zone”
Nicole Grater, “Working for What You Want”
Kimberly Macdonald, “Change Is Inevitable”
Megan Riebe, “Anthems, Tomatoes, and Big Red”
Karina Sauceda, “Just Keep Going!”
Tatum Spriester, “Inhaling Insanity”
Science Bowl

Please congratulate our Science Bowl Teams on their hard fought wins over the weekend. One of our 8th grade teams and all 3 of our high school teams ranked 3rd in their group matches. The 8th grade team of Kaitlin Albarran, Allison Wivagg, Kim Macdonald, Aidan Coleman, and Eric Liu advanced to the final rounds before taking 4th place. There were a total of 33 middle school teams and 34 high school teams participating.

High School Teams

Abby Parker, Beril Saygin, Victoria Nelson, Ben Felson

Evan Meade, Nia Clements, Adithya Mummidi, Ashlyn Roth, Luke Vilagi

John Wilkins, Carl Hileman, Javier Soza, Claire Yager, Mason Valicek

Middle School Teams

Kaitlin Albarran, Allison Wivagg, Kim Macdonald, Aidan Coleman, Eric Liu

Tatum Spriester, Siona Manocha, Nicole Grater, Ethan McKendrick, Hashim Latif

VASE Competition Results-February 2017

Eleven students participated in the VASE regional art contest on Saturday. Everyone did an outstanding job and received the highest possible score of 4. Daniela Tala mantes-Martinez, Rachel Jiang, Catie Poneck, Caroline Yager, and Nina Koneru also advanced to the state competition! This is one of the most competitive art competitions in the state with over 300 participants competing in our region alone, so please be sure to congratulate these students if you see them.

Carly Garcia
Rachel Jiang
Nina Koneru
Huzair Latif
Ingrid Mayer
Arianna Pachecano
Catie Poneck
Iris Rodriguez
Sophia Roldan
Daniela Talamantes Martinez

2017 National Merit Honorees
National Merit SemiFinalists (2):
Olivia Addington
Anna Christoffersen
National Hispanic Scholars (5):
Paula Arredondo
Nina Freeman
Taylor McManus
Tamar Furman
Roberto Soza
National Merit Commended (7):
Nina Freeman
Jonathan McCutchen
Isuru Somawardana
Roberto Soza
Mason Valicek
Vivian Whitney
Musmin Zar

We've Moved!